10 Ways I’m Making 2015 Different

72e489719a2db0ddfc4e59060fc68435At just 25 years old, I have found myself saying things like “That’s just the way I am” or “Can’t change that”.  How ridiculous is that?  I have the ability to make myself better everyday.  As this new year approaches, I am focusing on how to better myself and the world around me little by little.  I’ll be focusing on these 10 goals to make 2015 a year of growth for me.

1. Live in the moment – Have you ever been out to dinner with your partner or at drinks with the girls and you can’t help but think about tomorrow’s things to do list? I’ve missed out on little details that make the right now special, and those are moments you can’t get back.

2. Stop worrying about things out of my control – This should probably be number one according to Nico.  I worry about everything, especially things out of my control – flying, other people’s decisions, making everyone happy, and the list goes on and on.  This year, I’ll be stopping to breathe and think it through.

3. Make smart life choices, but don’t forget to be spontaneous – Having been married and purchased a home before I was 25, I feel mature for my age.  Oftentimes, we have conversations about money, babies, the future, and we lose sight of the fact that we are in our mid-twenties.  While I won’t be spending all our savings on sport cars, I will be filling myself with a bit more youth and spunk for life.

4. Be confident – Like most women, I struggle with this frequently.  I will be trying to see myself the way others see me rather than strive to reach unrealistic goals.

5. Volunteer time and efforts – For the last 6 months, I have been volunteering a lot more.  It has really exposed me to things that I would have never known about – human trafficking in Tampa, adoptions, teaching children about nutrition.  Volunteering (and in turn learning about my community) is a priority for 2015.

6. Read more books – Confession: 99% of the time, I will wait for the movie.  I go through phases during which I enjoy cuddling up with a book, and I need to carry that warm fuzzy with me to 2015.  I think Lena Dunham, Tina Fey, and Amy Poehler will be helping me along the way.

7. Be less blonde – By this I mean be less of a ditz.  In uncomfortable or new situations, I tend to giggle and come off wrong.  Once again, taking a moment to breathe and think about my actions should nip this in the bud.

8. Focus on health, not a number on a scale – After being a complete glutton over the Christmas season, I am ready to focus on nutrition and general health rather than losing weight.  Even though I’d really like to lose 3 pounds.

anigif_enhanced-17163-1399926163-5

9. Stop caring about what other people think  – I’m never going to make everyone happy.  But, seriously, why I am I so preoccupied with what a stranger in Target thinks about my new top?  I’m frustrating myself just thinking about the time I’ve spent caring about what others think.  This year, I’ll be worried about being true to myself first.

10. Travel – This one is difficult for me because I am a creature of habit.  Oh yeah, and I have a debilitating fear of flying.  Hopefully, with a little help from my travel buddies, I will be able to overcome this fear and see the world!

I hope everyone is honest with themselves when making resolutions this week.  Think about what you really want and pinpoint how you can make that happen.  Happy New Year everyone!

Images: SourceSource

 

CheersSunshine

4 thoughts on “10 Ways I’m Making 2015 Different

  1. Chelsea Burns says:

    7/10 would be solved with a couple fantastic glasses of wine 🙂 and for the record, you are INCREDIBLE just the way you are!

Leave a Reply

