Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Spiced Cream Cheese Frosting

PumpkinSpiceCupcakesCover

I’m not one of those people who are obnoxiously excited about the influx of pumpkin flavor in late September.  But I must say that baking with pumpkin is my favorite!  It has the same moistness as banana without the browning after a few days.  To welcome fall this year, I worked up a batch of pumpkin cupcakes with spiced cream cheese frosting.  I was inspired by a variety of recipes I’ve found.  The pumpkin cupcakes are from Savor Home, and the frosting I made up on my own.  Check out these easy recipes and my special baking assistant below.

Pumpkin Cupcakes: 
 1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup pumpkin puree (about 3/4 of a can)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
Yields: 12 cupcakes

Directions: 

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a cupcake pan with liners.

2. In one bowl, whisk the flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

3.  In another deeper bowl, whisk the pumpkin puree, packed brown sugar, granulated sugar, vegetable oil, and 2 large eggs.

4.  Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until just combined.

5.  Fill your cupcake liners about 3/4 of the way using an ice cream scoop.

6.  Bake for 15-18 minutes.  I always start checking mine early, and 18 minutes was perfect for me.  Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcake comes out clean.  Let them cool completely on a wire rack.

PumpkinCupcakeArmy

Spiced Cream Cheese Frosting:

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Directions: 

1.  In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, fluff the softened butter.

2.  Add cubes of softened cream cheese to the butter.  Mix on high until smooth.

3.  While the mixer is on low,  slowly add the powdered sugar.  Mix on high until smooth.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl to incorporate fully.

4.  Add the vanilla extract and mix on low.

5.  Add all your spices and mix until combined.

After all this mixing, I had piqued the interest of a new baking assistant, my goldendoodle named Wrigley.  The little guy used to be terrified of the mixer, but now he knows that if he sits patiently something will unintentionally hit the floor, and he’s called dibs!

PumpkinWirgs

I added a little pecan on top to make the cupcakes look a bit more festive.  I love that you can see all the spices in the frosting.  I found that they taste the best when they have sat overnight in the refrigerator.  The cream cheese frosting sets beautifully, and the coolness makes me forget that it is 90 degrees outside.

Happy Fall, yall!

PumpkinCupcakesFinal

 

Cheers + Sunshine, 

Jess

Leave a Reply

