Life Hack: Gel Manicure

Gel-Manicure-HackI’ll start this post with a quote by Zooey Deschanel, ” I don’t like plain nails.  I get sad.”  I’m sure this rings true for millions of ladies out there, including myself.  I thought that my prayers had been answered with the invention of the gel manicure.  However, after months of manicures every two weeks, my nails were left weak and thin and my mind a little concerned about the UV rays.

After letting my natural nails see the light of day for a few months, I was ready to get back on the manicure horse, but my wallet wasn’t.  I am at a point in my life where saving money is my first priority, so dropping $40+ every two weeks for a relaxing gel manicure wasn’t on the agenda.  So began my search for a long-lasting manicure….

I tried everything you will see on Pinterest, but nothing worked as well as the combination of Gelous, Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy, and INM Out the Door top coat.  This routine didn’t require more coats than my typical at home manicure, and it cost a total of $13.  Just one coat of Gelous, two of your Revlon Colorstay, and one of Out the door, and you’re set.

Here’s the trick:  proper nail prep + thin layers.  First, make sure that your nails are completely clean.  Use your nail polish remover and give each nail a good scrub to get all the natural oils off.  Each layer of polish that you put on should be thin enough that it dries completely in minutes.  Waiting for a completely dry layer each time is ideal, but oftentimes unrealistic.

This manicure lasts about 5 days with zero chips.  Just enough to get you through the work week.  For a longer lasting mani, choose lighter colors that won’t show chips.

Do you have a routine that you prefer?  Let me know your gel manicure hack!

Cheers + Sunshine,

Jess

 

Leave a Reply

